Accomplished Law Firm In Clinton, Sedalia, Windsor And Warsaw, Missouri

  1. Home
  2.  ► 
  3. Motor Vehicle Accidents
  4.  ► What happens when an uninsured driver hits your vehicle?

What happens when an uninsured driver hits your vehicle?

On Behalf of | Jun 1, 2021 | Motor Vehicle Accidents |

Crashes happen every day in Missouri, and most of them have very few consequences. The people involved may have to cancel their plans while they wait for the police to come and write up a report. They may have to arrange to have repairs made or even seek medical evaluation if they suffered injuries in the crash.

The person not at fault for the collision files a claim against the insurance policy of the driver who caused the wreck, and the insurance company pays at least most of their costs. However, that isn’t always what transpires. Sometimes, drivers get into a crash caused by someone who doesn’t have insurance. When that happens, the whole situation becomes much more complex.

An uninsured driver leaves you with the financial risks

Someone out on the road without insurance could cause major injuries to others or damage to their property. Drivers in Missouri generally carry liability insurance, which means that their policies protect them from claims made by someone they hurt.

The insurance pays so that those individuals can’t file a civil lawsuit that could affect their major assets or even their income. If a driver without insurance crashes into your car, you may be able to file a claim under your own policy if you carry uninsured driver coverage. However, making such a claim will likely increase what you pay for insurance in the future even though you weren’t at fault for the collision.

How often do crashes with uninsured drivers occur?

Many states, including Missouri, have seen an increase in uninsured drivers in recent years. The percentage of uninsured drivers out of the total driving population in Missouri was 14% in 2015. It increased to 16.4% by 2019.

Even if they do have insurance, the driver who causes your crash may carry the lowest amount allowed under the law. You might have only $10,000 to repair or replace your vehicle or as little as $25,000 for all of your medical expenses and lost wages.

It is impossible to predict exactly how many crashes will involve a driver not carrying proper insurance, but it is enough that the Missouri government acknowledges this risk right on their page talking about liability coverage.

Fighting back against irresponsible drivers

When a driver didn’t carry insurance or didn’t have enough for the consequences of the crash that they caused, you may need to consider pursuing a personal injury lawsuit against them to recoup your lost wages, property damage and other losses. Those needing to maximize insurance benefits may also require support during the process of negotiating their claim.